Dear Mom and Dad,

It was the 10th of Muharram three years ago, that I actually felt alone!

Mom, you had gone already 24 days ago. However there was a ray of hope that Dad would be back. It was enough to hold the four of us together.

But then, Dad, you too left!

That day made me realise that both of you were gone!

Forever!

Now I only sit with tears in my eyes. Suddenly while laughing, I feel a pain in my heart and the urge to weep! I feel hopeless and aimless. I feel lost. Words refuse to come to me. Wishes seem futile. I feel a loneliness!!

The only thing I can do now is to pray for you.
May Allah be merciful to both of you and grant you the highest place in Jannah!

I’m trying mummy!
I’m trying daddy!

I know you’d want me to be myself. You’d want me to be fine and take care of my kids. You’d have wanted me to be happy but how can I! How will I ever?

I’ll try! To live without you and to hold onto the other SFRs!

Lots of love and tears,

Your daughter

Syeda