The Soft Target by Kalyan Nanda – Review

Hello friends!!

Finally I finished reading the book which I had started! Though there are piles yet waiting, this book was sent to me by a friend. A worthy recommendation. And here I wish to review it. As a good reader, I feel obliged to review the book on my blog and Amazon, if I really like the book. Else it just makes it to my blog, wouldn’t want to leave a bad review. Some mad ethics or thoughts of mine! 😀

So here it goes:

The Soft Target by Kalyan Nanda.

softtarget

Blurb: Via Amazon.in

Is God good? Or is He a manipulative villain who plays with the lives of his creations in the name of karma? As far as Mohan Mishra is concerned, God is a villain. Mohan is God’s soft target, for He ‘blesses’ him with a strange mental problem and kills his support system when he needed it the most. The Soft Target is the story of a boy’s journey into manhood, as he takes on God with his mental prowess, defeating Him at every stage, thus making God his soft target. Supported by great friends and a loving wife, Mohan fights an epic battle against the murderous society, the conniving legal system and ultimately God himself, with remarkable courage and spirit.

Review:

It took me a little long to start this book but I must say once I started it, there was no way I could keep it down. As the story kept moving, it was hard to keep the book down for anything. I am glad to have read it and reviewing it just makes me feel excited.

The story starts with Mohan, a young boy with a big problem. His life isn’t simple. It is just different, as much as he is different from the rest of the people around him. As the story about him moves, we also meet two new men, Brij and Nikhil. Another two men, with their own set of insecurities and point of views. They chance to meet and then grows a bond among them. The thing which makes them click is that they are humane to each other, rather than anything else. The ups and downs the three of them face while at college, adds more character and value to the story.

A constant thing recurrent in Mohan’s life seems like a trivial thing and then all comes falling as the sudden downpour from the grey thundering clouds. The stories and incidents happening here and there, all get intertwined. Then the story takes one direction. And all starts happening at a thrilling pace.

The thrill and imagery created by the writer is really worth mentioning. The reference to the various concepts, beliefs and details about the Indian society should make the international readers understand the story too. The little snippets of life, middle class family traditions and practices, the common scenarios we come across and the little fun filled moments shared by friends make it enjoyable.

I’d seriously recommend it to you if you are someone who loves to read a thriller-political drama-inspirational story in one place. I found it a little Bollywood-ish, and that wouldn’t be a bane in my view, because isn’t Bollywood one of the things that we really love too! Do get your hands onto it and give it a reading.

The only things that didn’t appeal to me was its cover and the thing that God is man’s enemy. The latter has something to do with my own beliefs. About the former, I feel that a story, sensitive, about emotions and humans, should have had a humanistic look. The cover made me think if it was a self-help or a theoretical or a robotic kind of book. Only when the story kept moving, did I feel that the cover just misled me!

Thanks for reading my review!

Lots of love and best wishes to all!

-Syeda FR

Leave a Reply

