What I lived for? – Poetry

As a child, immature and young,

I used to think childhood stung.

I asked myself, Can I just close my eyes,

And wish I’d grow up in size?

But every time I opened my eyes

I woke up when the sun did rise.

I didn’t grow, neither size nor age.

As I became a bewildered adolescent

I was responsive to every word said

Mother’s advice was unwanted and unbearable

Dad’s inputs were unasked for and terrible

I hated every soul who asked me

Questions that bound me, didn’t let me fly free.

I did grow but it just wasn’t enough!

Passing with time, I was filled with dreams

Hopes and desires to make future gleam

Degrees, job, payroll and loans

These kept me engrossed, with moans and groans.

I toiled hard to fulfill those dreams,

Which I had seen, ages ago, it seems.

I grew older, yet wasn’t what I had dreamed.

My breath is now slow and weak

The voice broken and tone so meek

For I had driven all away in selfishness

When I reflect I see the life I lived, a complete mess.

With just my loneliness to give me company,

The drought has come, nearing the end of my journey.

I am now tired and lost, while I strived always for more than enough!

©S.F.R.

11 thoughts on “What I lived for? – Poetry

  1. Funny how what we believe life to be as children is never what it becomes as an adult.
    We are rarely ever prepared for what lies ahead, few children are given helpful advice, words that will ready them for solo flight.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Isn’t that just the sad part! The innocent childhood is lost in the wish and desire to become a free adult. And the most beautiful phase of life passes away, just like that!! 😢😢

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bad parents! Some keep alive a vicious cycle – they do what they have gone through! I feel sad for those many places, where children are forced to become adults to run the house!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so meaningful, in hindsight you realise your life has passed before your eyes while you were still waiting for something to happen, instead of living in the present your mind focused on other issues.. Its something we all need to do once in a while especially in this fast-paced and overwhelming world. Beautiful poem 👌 – Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

