Day 29 – June1-30Challenge

Hi everyone!

Glad to be back with the last couple of days’ posts left of the June1-30Challenge. So here I go with Day 29!

Day 29 Track Twenty-nine

June 29, 1896. The St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Company (predecessor of the St. Louis – San Francisco Railway) is incorporated.

In the old Glen Miller song “The Chattanooga Choo Choo” the train departs on Track 29.

Have you ever ridden a train? Write a post about a train. Tell us about train ride you have taken or one you’d like to take. Make up a story about a train or write a poem featuring a train. Share pictures of trains. Your choice!

The train ride I had was a few years back. We -the children and I – were on a vacation, and the children were getting restless. After a lot of persuasion, hubby dear agreed to apply for leave. Lucky for us, his classes were postponed due to the Sports week at college. 

I had traveled by train earlier but it was the first time the children were going to ride the train. The moment we reached the Railway Station, their faces glowed up as though the brightest bulbs. They were amazed to see “such a big train” and equally anxious when it started moving. The chugging train, the calling out of the vendors, the continuous flow of people getting in and out at the other substations, it was all such a unique thing for them. 

Now it may surprise you that my children behaved/were so ignorant. Well, after spending their little childhood locked up and alone in Saudi, coming to India and seeing the different ways awed them completely. That’s usually what our children face when they come back from abroad. Luckily for me, my children do not throw tantrums. The whole trip, the train ride, all was memorable for me as I was able to show my kids another side of the country we belong to! 

The next will be the last post of the challenge. And today was the last Friday of Ramadhan – Jummat ul Widaah. The next Friday might as well be the day of Eid ul Fitr. Every road around home is blocked, every place filled with food, every one out shopping. Sadly these last nights are supposed to be spent in prayers, seeking forgiveness and mercy. 

Planning ahead for this since the last two years, I am nearly done with all the shopping. Might just go and get some jewellery for myself! Oh! Let me share a secret with you – I spoil myself with imitation jewellery, specially the bigger ones! 😍😋

6 thoughts on “Day 29 – June1-30Challenge

Leave a Reply

