Day 23 – June1-30Challenge

Day 23 In or Out

June 23, 2016. Britain votes today whether to stay in the European Union or get out of it.  The choice is simple: In or Out. But the ramifications of a vote to leave are complex and uncertain.

Have you ever had to choose In or Out? Maybe it was a job that you didn’t like. Or a business deal. Maybe you were in a relationship where you had to choose In or Out.

Write about making a simple but difficult choice.

 Well, as I am lagging behind, the above mentioned voting has already been done. For good or bad, the Britons decided in favour of Leave. I just hope it wouldn’t be as bad as it is being expected. May things happen for the good of all. Aameen!

Now, have I ever had to choose In or Out!
Job? Yes!
Business deal? No!
Relationship? No!
So, job incident it shall be.

Soon after we returned to India from Saudi, I applied at an infotech company in Hyderabad. As my brother was already working there, we were skeptical that they would call me for interview. Some companies do have rules not to have people of same family at their place.

I applied for the post of a Quality Assurance Analyst. Six years after having got an MBA, I decided to step into the corporate world. All these years I worked as a teacher.
Due to the country/cultural rules in Saudi Arabia, only few profession allowed women in. The most predominant ones are medicine (doctor or nurses) or teaching. So teaching it was!

I was selected in the company and enjoyed my work a lot. But slowly I realized it was effecting my children. It was an hour’s drive from home, so two hours went in commuting. The work needed us to be there for 9 hours. A total of 11 hours. I used to leave after they went school but returned quite late.

Finally when my year old contract came to an end, I approached the HR to let me go. They were persistent that I continue, my work was quite appreciated by the American office too! But I had to step out, as the guilt of losing out the family time was too heavy to carry.

That my friends has been the time I had to make a simple yet a difficult choice!
Yet today, I have no regrets about it. If I hadn’t left that maybe I wouldn’t have been here. Maybe not on WordPress. Maybe not have met you all!

Stay happy and blessed!
S.F.R.

2 thoughts on “Day 23 – June1-30Challenge

Leave a Reply

