Day 20 – June1-30Challenge

Hello friends of the blogging world!

So today here I am with the Day 20 of the challenge. A four day lapse! 😂😂

Day 20 Twenty Minutes

June 20, 1963. The United States and Soviet Union signed an agreement to set up a hot line communication link between the two countries. 

If you could have a hot line to any person, dead or alive, who would it be? Who would you want to chat with if you only had twenty minutes on the hot line? What would you tell them?

Honestly speaking, there are many people I admire and would think of talking to them via a hotline. But if I have a choice to connect even with someone not alive in this world, then I’d like to use it. And that twenty minutes I want to talk to my grandparents. My maternal grandparents.

I would love to hear their voice again, which I have been missing since long. I was attached to my naana and naani more than my parents. When I went away with my mother to be with my dad, while he was in Oman, they had a tough time to live without me. In the Indian society, the birth of a girl isn’t taken in a positive manner. But they broke that jinx. I was their first grand daughter, they had two grandsons – my aunt’s sons ( mom’s sister’s sons ).

If I could connect to them, I am sure for the major part of those twenty minutes, I would be crying. Telling them how much I miss them and how much I love them. I would tell them how hard I find it when I don’t have my Grandma pulling me close and caressing my hair while I lay with my head in her lap. I would tell my Grandpa how I miss listening to his lovely stories. He would tell me the same story again and again, and I always heard them with the same interest. He had gone blind due to diabetes, and for a period of more than 15 years he lived like that. He would tell me those things which he longed to see.

I still get tears thinking of those days.
Whenever I would go with mom to meet them, with his soft, feeble, weak, old hands he would outline my face, my nose, my cheekbone, my lips and chin, my eyes and my jawline. Even when I was a college girl. He’d conclude by saying, “How beautiful my little girl has become!” Or he would scold my mom saying she was not giving me enough food.

I would ask them, if they remember me as often as I think of them. I would ask them how beautiful is the Almighty’s paradise. I would ask them, if there is anything they want me to do for them. I would ask them to always look from there at me.

My book, “Love & Pain…in verses!” was a dedication to the people who believed in me and my abilities when I had no idea about it. It was a dedication specially to my Grandfather who gave me this dream, to become a writer.
I have to tell him that soon I will write his story. Soon I will tell the world his story, his hard times, his life and his love story!
The hardest part will surely be when the twenty minutes will end. It will be unbearable to disconnect that call. Too painful!!

Thanks dear friends for reading this emotional outburst of mine. I really miss them a lot.

Lots of love and best wishes.
Stay happy and blessed. Spread love to those around you. Before it gets too late!

Have a wonderful weekend.
S.F.R.

3 thoughts on “Day 20 – June1-30Challenge

Leave a Reply

