Day 16 – June1-30Challenge

Day 16 Sixteen and Licensed to Drive!

June 16, 1903 The Ford Motor Company was incorporated.

Sixteen is the age at which you can get a driver’s license in most states in the US. Was your first car a Ford? Tell us about getting your license or you first car.

Alternative: Write about a road trip.

I don’t have a driving license nor do we have a car as of yet!
So what do I write for day 16 challenge.
A road trip? Hmm!
Sadly I haven’t traveled much, but there have been a few trips. Most of these trips were when I was in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. And the main reason to travel was to do the Umrah and later Hajj – the religious pilgrimages.

The trip which I still remember is the first time I went to Makkah, the center point of all our prayers.

Common belief: Many people believe we prostrate or pray to the Black Stone or the Kaabah, in Makkah.

Fact: We do not pray to the stone!
It is the point where the Almighty asked the believers to face while they pray. It is the direction to which people all over the world face, while we offer prayers. If you’ve seen the people praying around the Kaabah, you must have noticed the concentric circles in which people stand and pray. When we pray from various locations on the Earth, that is exactly how it is!
All of us facing towards it, head low in prayer, asking for His mercy, begging for His forgiveness, crying in repentance and praying for all.

Now back to the trip. I had been there once while I was a young child. Faint memories kept lurking in my mind. After my marriage, as an adult, when we went there for the first time, I was filled with an undescribable joy and ecstasy. As the bus drove closer to the vast structure of the exterior, the illuminance filled me with a strange serenity.

The same was my state when I was driven towards the Prophet’s mosque at Madinah Munawwarah. I remember nothing about the ride, those 12-13 hours ride by bus or cars, not the hardships of traveling with a 2 year old or later with two little kids. I remember not the thirst and hunger, nor the headaches and puking. The only thing I remember is the illuminance of those two places and the way they filled me with peace and tranquility.

So, that completes my sixteenth day challenge of June. Thanks for reading.
Stay happy and blessed!
S.F.R.

3 thoughts on “Day 16 – June1-30Challenge

Leave a Reply

