Day 9 – June 1-30 Challenge

Wooooooh so today I might as well go ahead and post the challenges of three days!
Will I be able to do it? No idea!
Am I ready with any thoughts in mind? Nope!
Have I ever written/posted anything without preparing myself for it? Oh yes!!

So here goes the Day 9 post which was pending!

Day 9 Go the Whole Nine Yards

June 9, 1834. William Carey died. He is considered the Father of Modern Missions. He spent forty-one years as a Christian missionary to India without ever taking a furlough. Being a missionary in China in the early nineteenth century was not easy!

To go the whole nine yards means “to continue doing something dangerous or difficult until it is finished”. William Carey went the whole nine yards.

When have you gone the whole nine yards? Write about it.

Or write a story of someone in a dangerous or difficult situation and how they go the whole nine yards.

Well, for me such a situation hasn’t really existed and neither am I in a position to write a story now! Exhausted after a whole day fasting.

The only thing I can think of and count as “going the whole nine yards” would be this:
Three years back I resigned from the school where I was working, as I was tired of the owner/director’s approach towards the staff/faculty. With me matters were worse, I knew the man hated my guts and abilities.

Anyways, when I resigned, I knew he would show it as though they had expelled me. I didn’t bother about that . A few days later, I was called up by the director of a very esteemed institution to teach at her school.
I always say, “When Allah closes one door for you, He opens many more for you, if only you trust in Him and have patience!” So, this opportunity came about and I took it up.

As the academic year started, I got engrossed in the work at the new school. After a couple of months had passed, I got a call from the school – from where I had resigned.
They had tried hard, I know they tried extremely hard, to find an English teacher who could get the same result that I had been getting for them.
A 10/10 GPA!
They were offering me the same pay and asked me to join back. I wasn’t willing to do it, I didn’t want to go back to that school, work under that management. A firm No was my answer.

That was until, a few students of mine, got my mobile number and reached out to me. It was their fear and anxiety which effected me. The hope and trust that those children had on me was amazing. Their parents’ pressure had resulted in the approaching gesture of the management.
Now for me this was hard.
My school works from 8:15 am to 4 pm.

They now wanted me to come and teach the students of class 10 for a 45 minutes session, everyday. Finally after cajoling my family and agreeing to certain norms set by my family ( out of fear for my health and well being ) I agreed to take it up. I used to go for an hour class at 6pm.

A whole academic year, with this extended work really was the most difficult thing to do. And when it finished, I firmly decided to never take up two jobs at one time!

The result of this? About 50% of the students scored 10/10 GPA in English for the school, the lowest the students scored that academic year was a 7 GPA!
Though the most difficult time, the results gave me a satisfaction.
So that’s about it, see you all with the day 10 post in sometime!
Love,
S.F.R.

9 thoughts on “Day 9 – June 1-30 Challenge

      1. Yes, so many little things, I honestly didn’t think I could think of 101 things, but after a while it just comes to you. Take your time, the most important thing about any blog challenge is to have fun and do it when you have the time, so never feel pressured to rush to anything. 🙂 Hope all is well with you and your family with Ramadan

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

