Yours Truly (3)

In case you’ve missed, here’s part 1 and Part 2.

This is now part 3!

And since then, as a friend, I always accompanied John to these official parties. It wasn’t because of my job, but because he asked it as a friend. Standing beside him, in his shadows, in the centre, I was his accomplice. It was a silent deal, I help him in his lie that I was the girl in his life. Sometimes I hated pretending, while all along I had dreamt to be that girl. If only he would see beyond and let me be the one.

Agreeing to accompany also had a selfish motive. I was the person with whom he spent most of his time. I was content with the little that came my way. And in return I always had to save his arms from unwanted baggages. And I loved it. The arched eyebrows when he walked up to me, leaving those rich and beautiful women, gave me a sense of pride. I felt like Cinderella garnering the attention of the Prince.

As I walked towards the banquet hall, a group of men were walking in my direction. They were talking aloud and probably were drunk. One of them, literally dashed into me, his shoulders hit me hard like a wall and sent me off balance. The heel of my shoe made me slip and I was prepared for a fall.

Suddenly a hand came from nowhere and grasped my helpless, flailing hand. Another hand was around my back. A warm one on the exposed skin of my back. Before I could realize, the hand pulled strongly and brought me to position.

Before me stood, a tall man, tanned skin with brown eyes. Wearing a black suit, with white shirt, he looked like some model out of those Men’s magazines. I was so awestruck that I didn’t realize that I was staring foolishly at him. And then his lips moved, slowly curving into a smile, which showed the perfect set of teeth.

I’m sorry ma’am! he said.
Oh!! No, I don’t think it’s your fault.
Really! I should have seen you, but we were so lost in our talks… I really apologize, he spoke in a panicked voice. I hope you aren’t hurt! He continued.
No! No! I’m fine, I replied though my shoulder ached like hell.

The men from the hall way called out to him, he shouted back to them, that he would join them soon.

Can I have a drink with you? He suddenly asked.
My eyes must have brightened up like glowworms, for his smile turned into a grin.
No, not outside. Maybe just a little time inside. With all these people.

Mmmmm, I didn’t know what to say.
Well, my father sent me here. I don’t know even a single soul here. So I brought along a few friends and they seem to have had a lot to drink. I was hoping that with you, I could know a few people around, he smiled again.

I didn’t know what to say. He stretched out his hand with his palm upward. I slowly laid mine in it and he lead me back into the hall.

The first thing that crossed my mind was to introduce him to John. He would handle there on, I felt.
The moment I walked inside the hall, my eyes looked around for John. He was standing with some other lawyers. When his eyes fell on me, he smiled. His eyes traced down my hand and when he saw it in the new guy’s hand, I found a strange expression cross his face.

His eyes questioned me, what, I never could know. With a nod of my head, I beckoned him to come forth. I felt I needed him to save me.

Now I understood why he insisted that I come along. People here just don’t listen to you. They believe they are so important that they can thrust their company on you and you should be grateful about it.
As he walked closer to me, I felt strange vibes emanating from John. Something turning warm and cold, alternatively as though questioning me and then himself.
When he was standing in front of me, I knew I was safe now.
Sandra, you seem to have found some good friend of yours! He sneered at me.
Completely unexpected from him!!
Was he out of his mind? I never had friends here. He knew that.
Oh no! We just met in the hall way. I had literally toppled her. But the kind lady agreed to spend some time with me, the tall guy spoke.
Oh dear! Are you hurt? John asked, this seemed really genuine concern.
She assured me she isn’t, the tall guy again.

Are these men going to talk about me as though I was some China doll? Men!
I rolled my eyes. John saw me doing and a smile spread on his face.
Anyways, the lady is fine, I believe, John said. I’m John Strauss, he said stretching his hand out for the tall guy.

As he left my hand for the handshake, I slipped towards John and slid my arm in his.

Martin Taylor, he replied.
Nice to meet you Martin, John said with an air of victory, as he glanced at me by his side.

Suddenly I felt like I was the bone of contention here and it irked me. I was happy that he was concerned when my hand was in new ones, but certainly I wasn’t his trophy either.

Why don’t you join us? I said with a smile.
John’s face turned a slight pale.
Martin smiled broadly and said, I’d love to!
Holding John’s arm, talking to Martin, I walked towards the table when everyone sat for dinner.

No one here needed to answer anything for me! John wasn’t interested but what’s wrong in enjoying a little attention if someone shows interest in you!

I told myself and the smile stayed on my face, for the rest of the night!

(Should this be continued? 😮😮 Tell me!!)
©S.F.R.

24 thoughts on “Yours Truly (3)

  1. Woo-Hoo!! Ahh, it´s so lovely and exciting and I love how the new guy arrives and stirs a bit in the atmosphere so John gets a bit insecure…great!!! But there´s one thing I really don´t like: it´s much, much too short, Syeda!!! You really drive me crazy with this one! I want to read it all, and I want it NOW! (imagine me here shaking an angry fist at you;) ) Please, don´t let me wait so long, ok? Pleease?? Lots of love, xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes dear! Nothing makes people realize what they have unless they fear losing it. So maybe John gonna have to face the fears.
      I felt it was getting longer so stopped there! Surely will write up and end the story soon! A little patience, my dear! 😄😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That´s only too true! And a little rivalty doesn´t harm John, on the contrary, it´s good for him to see that he shouldn´t take Sandra for granted!
        Phhew! Patience! Totally overrated in my opinion! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I was confused if I should keep it moving. Getting longer than I anticipated 😮
      Sandra just doesn’t stop talking, John needs to be understand his feelings, while I don’t know what to do with Martin! 😕😯

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, to be perfectly honest with you: I would absolutely love it, if you would make the whole thing bigger!! I really love the characters, the idea of the story and there´s so much room for nice complications 😉 That´s where Martin comes in, I think. Maybe you could have him ask Sandra to a date, and so on…? But it is your story of course, I am only the reader, so I will keep my mouth shut and simply enjoy what you´ll give me to read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just exactly what I had in mind. Though a common theme in romance stories, the fun is in making the scenes more complicated 😉
        Hey no, you forget, the reader here is my muse, all rights bestowed to suggest and advice dear! 😄😘

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

