It was a surprise. . .

The phone rang.

He: Hello.
She: Hello Max! Is it you?
He: Yes Sofie. You called me so it’s me here.

She heard ruffling of paper. Max was busy. He was always busy when at work.

She: Oh! Actually I wanted to remind you. You promised you’d be home early today. You remember that right?
He: *restlessly* I remember Sofie. I’m quite busy. I’ll call you later.
She: No problems dear. Just return as promised. Please.
He: OK. See ya! Bye!

*********************************
Everything was ready on the table. The dinner and all. It was just seven. Max would return home by quarter to seven if he left office on time.

Bubbling with happiness, to have done it all alone, Sofie had a quick shower and took out her green dress. It was soft shining satin, hugging her figure to the skin. As it was sleeveless, she had done all the shaving and waxing in the morning before she got to cooking.

She stood in front of the mirror, readying herself for the night, blushing with excitement. Her strapless dress, left her shoulders bare. It was one of Max’s favourite dress. And she wanted to wear it today, just for him. She always loved surprising Max.

It was half past seven. She poured some soft drink into the glass and sat on the chair reading, P.S. I Love you. She loved romantic stories. Even if they were not always having ‘a happily ever after’ end.

The clock struck eight. She had read about five pages of the novel.

The hands of the clock were now showing half past eight. She became restless and called him. She heard the tone and waited for him to pick it up. He disconnected it. Maybe he was busy now. Probably some urgent work had come up.

Minutes passed. No message, no word came from him. She sat apprehensive, reading the next pages.

She heard the key turn in the hole. Her eyes opened suddenly. She didn’t realize, sitting there, waiting for him, she had fallen asleep.

He: I’m sorry dear. Couldn’t come earlier as promised.

Her eyes hastened to the clock. It was now one in the night. The day had ended. It was now 6th of May. The special day had flown off!

Her eyes got filled with quiet tears. She rose from the couch. Dropping her book down on the floor. The room echoed with the shattering of the glass. She walked over to the dinner table. Uncovering the special treat she had made for him, she picked it up silently. He walked into the dining room.

He: Oh dear! You had made all this for dinner. Why didn’t you tell me?
She: *softly* It was supposed to be a surprise, Max.
He: I’ll have a little now.
She: No. Thanks.

His eyes fell on the dish she was holding. It was a cake, he knew she had baked it for him. On the dark chocolate cake, with white cream, it was written ‘Happy Birthday My Love’.

None of his friends knew nor did any of his siblings remember. Only his loving wife had. He glanced at all the food. Everything on the table was prepared by her. All gone cold. She hadn’t touched it.

She started walking towards the refrigerator. She opened its door to keep it inside. Just then she closed it shut, having reconsidered her thought.

The whole effort of hers, she looked at it once.
Two things fell just then. A tear from her eye and the cake into the dustbin!

17 thoughts on “It was a surprise. . .

      1. Oh, my! You´re a very fast reader!! It´s not been a week since I told you about it! WOW! I´m totally impressed 🙂 And so happy that you liked it!!
        I think “Me before you” was her best so far. And “Leaving time” the best by Jodi Picoult – this one really just has it all! Have a beautiful weekend, my friend! 😀 xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, let me get Jodi’s this one then! Oh I am really bad when I am hooked onto a book. A thriller drives me crazy so I got to end it in a couple of days! 😀
        Have a wonderful weekend dear! Lots of love!! 😘😘😘

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think it´s marvellous when you can get hooked onto it this way! 🙂 I always thought I was fast but in comparison to you not anymore! 😉 I hope you don´t read the end of a book first and the rest after like some people do? I really can´t stand this! Sure, if it´s an extremely sespensed novel I kind of get it, but I´d nver do it myself 😉
        Have a great one too!!! XOXO 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh no that’s only for thrillers. For other genres I could take days! 😄😄
        Nooo I can never read that way, the thrill of reaching to the end keeps me running.
        Have a wonderful time my dear! 😘

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh my – days! That´s a veeeery long time to finish a book 😉 (hehe;) (I think most people need weeks or even months!)
        Aww – I´m so relieved that you read your books the “proper”;) way!! Woo-hoo!! 😀 xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

