Strength of my love. .

image

When I saw her come towards me, staggering and pale, I was struck with a pain in the chest. This young girl, a couple of months back was the epitome of mischief and beauty. She was the only friend I had, and destiny had taken her away from me.

I still remember, when she would pull me along the stairs and take me to the parties, she wanted to go to. I was a boring man in her eyes, because I preferred to stay home and spend time reading instead of partying. After college, I would either study, read a book or be with her. I was an introvert. I always had trouble talking to others or meeting new people. Except her. She was not others.

I avoided parties always, but I couldn’t avoid or make excuses when she was tugging my arm. She always took me along. We’d been together since childhood. She the impatient part and me the balancing part of the equation of our relationship. She was more than a friend to me, and I knew it was the same for her.

Until that night. The night my life underwent a storm, and I returned home, having lost everything. It changed our lives. In different ways.
When she knocked at the door of my room, I was on my bed reading Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I was amazed at the strength of the character Sydney Carton, and the extent to which love can change a person. I knew it did. I was the biggest living proof of it! I wanted to reveal the secrets of my heart soon. I was waiting for the right time. I knew it would come soon. And I had to do it. As soon as possible!

The last party we went to, the memories are still engraved in my mind and heart. She looked as enchanting as always. She wore her white dress, with pink lace and frills at the waist. Her knee length dress, showed her long gracious legs, and her white heeled shoes with a tiny bow in front, complimented her look. Her brown hair fell conspicuously around her shoulders and settled at her slender waist.

She made a fuss over everything, and kept  shouting that I was delaying her departure. She pushed me into the bathroom and made me wear my sky blue shirt. She stood out keeping time, and always made me better my previous records. She ruled me and I let her.

She was filled with excitement which made me curious. Innumerable times, I asked her to go alone, she didn’t agree to it. Whatever would happen, she would not go without me. And how much I dreaded these pubs, discos and parties, yet I went there just for her. To see her smile and spend time with her, I’d do anything!

That night, she was very excited. She kept looking at the people around, scanning them as if she were waiting for someone. When I asked her, she just brushed it off. We ordered for some soft drinks.
Though she enjoyed parties, she wasn’t into drinking. And whenever she did, I had to carry her into her room. Today, it looked as though she didn’t want to drink and spoil things. Her eyes would gleam suddenly, when a new person entered or the wind chime would make a soft musical sound. Then she’d be shadowed with dismay, on seeing the stranger’s face.

About half an hour passed this way. Just then, the chimes clinked as someone entered. Her expression changed and there was something I had never seen. Something which I wanted to see in her hazel eyes, for me. Tonight I saw it, but her eyes weren’t on me. My heart felt like a fist clenching it hard.

Hazel! Is that you? The voice called out to her, from the door, behind me.

Oh Ron! You really came! I saw Hazel shriek with joy.

Dressed in leather pants and jacket, a white slitted tshirt, a broad shouldered man walked towards us. His flat stomach, the tanned skin and bulging muscles added to his looks. And the helmet he carried, showed he was a biker. His unkempt black hair, swayed above his shoulder, as he moved. He was every inch of a modern guy, with a face that any girl would fall for.

That was Ron, whom Hazel looked at with complete awe. And I knew she had fallen for him!

He walked in our directions, with a bright smile showing his perfect teeth. He didn’t need to come further, for Hazel ran towards him and jumped into his arms.

And my heart stopped beating for it died a silent death!

To be continued…….

S.F.R.

16 thoughts on “Strength of my love. .

Leave a Reply

