Wren by Regina O’Connell – Review

There is nothing worse than a pile of books lying around on your shelf – real as well as electronic ones. I’ve collected a few ( or should I say many of them!? ) but struggling to read because of my lesson plans and other works. Wish I had some peaceful place to go to!

So, today I managed to complete the book, I was on it for the last few days.
A new book, new author, and a different genre for me. Once done, I had to review it here for you all! 😁

The ebook was mailed to me by the author, via her Facebook page. Wren by Regina O’ Connell, is the one to have kept me hooked these days!

image

Book Blurb:
I am special. My mother always told me this.
My voice has power. From the moment I could, I sang.
The songs I sang had power.
That is how I came to be here in this small, gray cell. Now I am mute. I cannot sing or even talk.
I try and there is nothing. I don’t know what they have given me or done to me for this to happen.
Singing is magic. Singing makes things happen. It can change your way of thinking; it makes you smile, laugh, or weep.
For some, like me, singing is life. For some, like me, singing brings death. 

My take on it: Wren is the story of a young girl with power in her voice, her songs are spells which even she isn’t aware of. Wren talks about what Past Times were many years back and how people in her times are living.
The story revolves around magic, spells, power struggle, greed and suppression of the common people by the elite. It is a fight between good and evil, virtue and vice. And what’s more, it’s between a daughter and her father.
The evil in man knows no bounds, and Wren also show how low one could stoop in his greed. The desire and striving of a girl and her grandmother to bring back the youngest member of the family, keeps the story moving.

Usually I don’t pick books of this genre but I found it really interesting and a 200 page read is anytime helpful. The manner in which the plots and the story unfolds are smooth and keeps you enchanted. I would really try to get it in paperback for my daughter. And I believe the story of Wren is still to complete!

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
I would really recommend it if you’re in a mood for a magical story and are ready to enjoy a book from the point of view of a young girl out on a journey to protect and reunite her family.

Happy Reading! Enjoy life!!

S.F.R.

4 thoughts on “Wren by Regina O’Connell – Review

Leave a Reply

