I was… I am…

image

I was buried alive earlier,
I am killed in the womb today.

I was slapped for asking something,
I am ridiculed for dreaming today.

I was burnt alive when my husband died,
I face the sarcastic words and lusting eyes today.

I was afraid to step out of home earlier,
I am frightened further today.

I was treated as a slave earlier,
I still am counted as one somewhere.

I was abused in silent homes earlier,
I’m raped on roads, in cars, in hotel rooms today.

I was killed earlier and I’m killed even today,
Still a day for Women you mark, a day you celebrate.

Do you believe the day passed without a murder or rape?
Then what is this celebration for, when even a day I ain’t safe!

S.F.R.

16 thoughts on “I was… I am…

Leave a Reply

